B S Alarm Sounding

Rockwood

Do those who question the reliability of radiometric dating on the basis that salts of the elements used are water soluble have a leg to stand on ? Something tells me it may be a true but irrelevant statement that is useful to their agenda.

I'm no expert, but I know a little about radiometric dating and how it works. Personally, (and I could be wrong; if so, I hope someone else will correct me!) I think the short answer to your question is "no, you're correct to think that's BS".

I do know that in some cases, such as potassium-argon dating, the decay product (Ar) is gaseous, therefore if the rock in question was water-permeable there would not be detectable Ar left in the sample. As far as dating goes, that would make the rock appear younger than it really is. In the case of uranium-lead dating in zircon crystals, the crystals are not water-permeable, so any water solubility of either element would be irrelevant. In both cases, the original rock would not have formed with the decay products inside--argon would have dissipated before the molten rock cooled, and crystallizing zircons exclude lead.

I suspect that the case you've heard this applied to most might be radiocarbon dating. That's certainly the one that I've heard the most complaining about from those who don't want to believe it! In that situation, I would say that water permeability removing carbon from the sample is irrelevant, as a diffusion process doesn't preferentially select one isotope over another. If carbon is being added to an object, it will be added in the modern ratio (at whatever time it occurs; the intrusion could have occurred several thousand years ago). The result of this will be that the sample looks younger!! (I say "sample" or "object" here because carbon dating isn't normally used on rocks, only organic remains. Very few rocks are young enough to still have carbon14 present)