Fossil Hunter "slang"

Mr_billy_bob

So I'm kind of new to paleontology, since I was 6 I liked dinosaurs and paleontology but now I'm want to know how you guys talk about dinosaurs, I've heard people say stuff like "Phacopida trilobite"

So do you guys read books about how to identify and classify prehistoric species? Thanks!

If you want, check out my Paleontology Flipboard Magazine:

https://flipboard.com/@jacksoncoop2015/paleontology-90jlk5riy

THANKS FOR CHECKING IT OUT! :D

Speaking from personal experience - Yes. :)

I am not a professional by any stretch. But after 20 years of looking for things, and learning about things, you start to get the feel of everything. I know I do not pronounce the latin names correctly, but I try.

There is so much to learn, from the fossils you can find, to the geology behind fossilization... it is an ongoing labour of love. Always learning something new.

I am interested in different types of fossils, so I study whatever I am currently interested in. Usually that consists of whatever I have recently collected, or plan to collect in the near future.

I started off by reading everything I could about the fossils of my area. Then, I went to museums, and studied what the fossils look like in my area, and what can be found in my area.

I went back, and read scientific papers, books, internet articles, newspaper articles, - anything pertaining to what I was interested in.

Then I began to search for fossils on my own. I was lucky enough to have a few areas available to me to do so.

Get some fossil books, and read what you can online... it is wonderful how much information you can get when you know how to get it.

Regards,

So the long answer

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER