Dumbest Question On The Forum

Pitviper

...but I have the temporary luxury of total noobie status, so I'll ask it anyway.

I collected some sharks teeth from a fossil bed last weekend. My brother asked if they were fossils or real teeth. I answered very confidently that they were fossils, but now I'm not so sure, none had any dirt on them and all were smooth and had neat striations along the edges, could fossils remain that immaculate and show no sign of wear in a river bed? It would be amazing to me that bone could be replaced by mineral in such a pristine manner.

Scale of 1-10, dumb question???????

"Nothing happens in contradiction to nature, only to what we know of it."

They could be just coming out of the matrix and you are finding them before they have a chance to tumble down the river. Some of the sharks teeth that I have found look like new also. It just depends how far they travel before they get to your hands. Here is a fossilized shark tooth from Tx that has had no cleaning done to it.

post-417-1237829361_thumb.jpg

...but I have the temporary luxury of total noobie status, so I'll ask it anyway.

I collected some sharks teeth from a fossil bed last weekend. My brother asked if they were fossils or real teeth. I answered very confidently that they were fossils, but now I'm not so sure, none had any dirt on them and all were smooth and had neat striations along the edges, could fossils remain that immaculate and show no sign of wear in a river bed? It would be amazing to me that bone could be replaced by mineral in such a pristine manner.

I'll bet you didn't see any sturgeon in the river! That's because the rapacious river sharks ate them all. Every year, the sturgeon come upstream to spawn, then a few days later, the sharks follow scent clues in the water and find all the hapless sturgeon trapped in shallow water. It's best to stay out of the river while this slaughter is happening.