Parasitic Gastropod?

minnbuckeye

On my way to Clermont Iowa last week, I stopped at a road cut on Hwy 52. Spent about 10 minutes looking at the potential of this rock when I found a Liospira with a Gastropod which I will call a Bellerophon attatched to it. The more I studied this, the more I began to think could the bellerophon be preying on this liospira? The positioning of the gastropod is perfect but I can see NO damage done to the "prey" If anyone with insite into the lifestyles of such gastropods would like to comment, I would love to hear from you. Thanks!post-12553-0-43836800-1438048684_thumb.jpg

• I found this Informative 1

That's a pretty cool combo! Very photogenic. I don't think it's a predator/prey situation, though, for two reasons. First, that would be a tough location to drill through, as the curvature of the shell would effectively increase the thickness the predator would have to drill through compared to the flatter parts of the shell. Secondly, I think the smaller shell is a Sinuites, and that was a monoplacophoran (not a snail) and was not a "driller". I assume the site was Ordovician, at least the big gastropod looks like one of the Ordovician forms such as Liospira? Holes have been noted in Ordovician shells, but they are uncommon and there is a lot of debate about whether they reflect predation or some other activity such as boring by sponges or barnacles to create a living space.

Don