Removing Matrix With Coca Cola?

Kennyburns

I recently went to Spain for some fossil hunting, and I found some nice fossils (in limestones).

Now i want to remove some matrix. Is it possible to use coca cola and does anyone have experience with it?

If yes, how is this process? I'm kinda new to this game.

I heard that vinegar is very popular to use.

Thanks in advance.

Edited by Kennyburns

Hi, Welcome to the forum, never heard of Coke being used but I would not be surprised if it worked, Vinegar will work but you should use the white malt vinegar, there if a good video of how to do it on Utube.

I have used acetic acid that is a very strong version of vinegar,

But no matter what you use remember to use the right type of gloves and eye protection.

Regards

Mike

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Coke is somewhat acidic but not enough to be of real use. Use either acetic acid or citric acid; muriatic acid (unless very diluted) will be too strong.

STANDARD PREPARATION TECHNIQUE FOR FOSSIL FISH FROM THE ROMALDO MEMBER.pdf

Fish from Brazil can be prepped by acid - this is how it's done. Not so easy - you will need a lot of experience to get good results!

Thomas

Edited by oilshale

Be not ashamed of mistakes and thus make them crimes (Confucius, 551 BC - 479 BC).

Kenny, one thing to keep in mind when using acid (I use vinegar to extract microfossils, but not for larger ones) is that you can etch your fossils as well as dissolve the matrix. Phosphatized fossils will be more resistant that calcified fossils, but if there isn't much matrix left for the acid to attack you should assume they can all be etched.

Have fun, and be careful! :D Welcome to the Forum!