Fossil cataloging

Scottnokes2015

Hi everyone, I am just starting out and I'm very particular about cataloging my finds. I have made Labels to stick on to p of the box the specimen is in which contains, ID #,date,were found,formation,member,series,age,gps coordinates.so I fill in the label for example for a Trilobite and all the data about it. What I was wondering if how do I catalog and label a plate that contains more than one fossil,ie, crinoid,Bryzoan,Trilobite and brachiopods.

Thanks

Thank you,but when I have a plate containing many different fossils,what do I call the plate as I can't call it over a single fossil

Multi fossil plates are sometimes referred to as hash plates. Maybe label as "hash- trilo Devonian" etc..

Call out the uniqueness of the hash plate? Just a suggestion. Not sure of a formal format.

• I found this Informative 1

It's hard to remember why you drained the swamp when your surrounded by alligators.

I believe many would call them hash plates. I find a lot of them in the Marine fossil beds of Ohio and Ind. Combinations of shells, bryozoa, coral, crinoid stems etc. I usually will label them for the most important fossil on the plate and the others as associated fauna.

You are off to a good start labeling your finds. That is the most important part of fossil collecting, otherwise your finds are just interesting rocks.

Many people ask for help asking to ID a fossil they were given or inherited, and with no location info It is very hard to give a good ID.

I do the same as Ziggy with the multiple plates. Choose the most important one and note the others as associated for your label. I also catalogue all of the fossils on the block separately and cross reference them in my data bank.

Greetings from the Lake of Constance. Roger

http://www.steinkern.de/