Protective Layer For Green River Fish

regainfreedom

Hi, I have recently got back from Japan and purchased some fossils ( Will be posting pics of them soon ). I happened to get my hands on unprepared Green River fossil fish and have finished prepping it. It's not that nice as it's my first attempt prepping fossil fish and scratch some fins off.

What kinds of protective coating should I apply to keep the fossil intact?

Does painting it with any type of clear glue do the job?

post-460-1240508374_thumb.jpg

post-460-1240508424_thumb.jpg

Not bad for a hand prep. I've done a few of those myself and you alway wind up with a few missing scales and scratches on the fins until you get the hang of it.

Dave

-Dave

Geologists on the whole are inconsistent drivers. When a roadcut presents itself, they tend to lurch and weave. To them, the roadcut is a portal, a fragment of a regional story, a proscenium arch that leads their imaginations into the earth and through the surrounding terrain. - John McPhee

If I'm going to drive safely, I can't do geology. - John McPhee

Check out my Blog for more fossils I've found: http://viewsofthemahantango.blogspot.com/

you should use a matte finsih workable fixative. if that is not available use a matte finish clear spray paint. spray the entire rock. (18" layer fish, you should spray it into the lid and paint it onto the fish only not the rock. it ruins the contrast otherwise)

Brock

you should use a matte finsih workable fixative. if that is not available use a matte finish clear spray paint. spray the entire rock. (18" layer fish, you should spray it into the lid and paint it onto the fish only not the rock. it ruins the contrast otherwise)

Brock

Hi, I have bought a can of acrylic epoxy spray paint ( Dull Lacquer ). Is it safe to be use this as a protective coating?