Prep & Clean Concretion - Too Risky To Learn On?

shorty

I found this a while back & was lucky enough to get an ID from Dr. Jarmila Kukalova-Peck. She was very gracious & sent a reply & suggested cleaning it to reveal more details.

I've never done anything like this and was worried about damaging it, so it's been in a drawer for a couple of years.

post-1206-1241394578_thumb.jpg

Has anyone ever attempted something like this? Is it too risky for me as a complete newbie to attempt?

I'd sure like any advice. I may never find another one, so I'd hate to ruin it. thanks! Kim

Here's the letter from Dr. Kukalova-Peck

". . . I am sure it is a youg nymph of Insecta: Paleoptera: Palaeodictyopterida, but it is impossible to say, which order. Most probably, either Megasecoptera, or Palaeodictyoptera.

Evidence: On both sides of the abdomen, there are remnants of peculiar, tubular outgrowths, unique to these insects. We think that they were protective camouflage devices. They must have looked like a ball of fluff. They were terrestrial and had long, broad sucking beaks. They sucked in entire contents of fructifications, so that they were perched in trees and exposed to attacks from marauding dragonflies. Apparently, when these predators tried to snatch them away,. they ended up with their long spiny legs full of "hay', or so we believe.