Tooth Id - Deltadromeus Agilis?

Pitviper

Just made my first big fossil purchase, two teeth and a vertebrae from dinostore.com (recommended by a forum member). I ordered a spinosaur tooth and vert and a tooth from deltadromeus agilis.

... now I see on different site, deltadromeus teeth for more money and a warning to buyers about cheaper teeth on another site that are allegedly misidentified.

Now I'm already unsure about my purchase and I don't even have it in hand yet.

I'm ok if it's another species other than D.agilis, I just want to know what I really have. Can anyone confirm or deny the identity of this .7" tooth?

DSTRA34c.jpg

"Nothing happens in contradiction to nature, only to what we know of it."

I'm no expert, having only studied photos of avian threapod teeth for comparison to those of early birds, but it looks good to me. Take a pic of the root-end cross section when you get it to dispell any doubts.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

I know very little of dino teeth from Morocco but it does seem small to be Deltadromeus. I would say as long as you didn't pay a bunch extra for it compared to other species of Dromaeosaur teeth from Morocco you still got a good buy and one heck of a nice little tooth.

I think I paid $79 for it, $89 for the spinosaur tooth, and $150 for the spino vert... if that's any help...

(To whomever asked about the photo, I didn't take it, so I can't give you rights to use it, but I'm photographer by trade and I'll take some nice shots of my own and send them to you.)

Hi Auspex,

I'll take images of the cross section. What is it that you can tell from the root xsection that aids in ID?

Ps- I'm going hawk banding soon for the first time, I can't wait! :)