Fossil With Raised Chain

Cubby

Hi! :)

I'm pretty new to knowing much about fossils, but since my hubby and I are having a pond dug, I've been doing my own digging for rocks (we have lots of rocks!). Last night I found a rock about half the size of a golf ball (or less) with what looks like a white raised chain wrapped all around the stone in different ways. I'm baffled at what this could be. I ran water over it and the links stayed white but the stone itself turned darker. Does anyone know what sort of fossil this is? I keep trying to do searches online and have flipped through every rock book at the library, but I can't find anything even close to it. Can anyone help me? :unsure:

Thanks!

~Cubby ")

Hi! :)

I'm pretty new to knowing much about fossils, but since my hubby and I are having a pond dug, I've been doing my own digging for rocks (we have lots of rocks!). Last night I found a rock about half the size of a golf ball (or less) with what looks like a white raised chain wrapped all around the stone in different ways. I'm baffled at what this could be. I ran water over it and the links stayed white but the stone itself turned darker. Does anyone know what sort of fossil this is? I keep trying to do searches online and have flipped through every rock book at the library, but I can't find anything even close to it. Can anyone help me? :unsure:

Thanks!

~Cubby ")

If you could post a picture of it, Someone might be able to help.

Guest N.AL.hunter

Pictures are worth thousands of words. See if you can post some pics of it. Also, location info might help us. Welcome to the forum.

If you could post a picture of it, Someone might be able to help.

Not sure if I did this right! Sorry! I did try to send it though. If it didn't turn out, I'll try again. I'm on a computer I am not used to.

from your description it sounds like Halysites which is a chain coral that is weathering differentially. not an uncommon fossil but i am sure it is very intersting.