Pathologic C. Hastalis Tooth or not? What do You think?

ynot

Hey Y'All,

Found this C. Hastalis on My last trip to Sharktooth Hill (story here--http://www.thefossilforum.com/index.php?/topic/66149-hot-days-and-toothy-dreams/ )

I think it looks laterally compressed, but would like to get Your opinions on it.

What do You think-- pathologic or not?

Scale in picture is inch ruler.

post-16416-0-27109400-1466996312_thumb.jpgpost-16416-0-76414300-1466996319_thumb.jpgpost-16416-0-35369800-1466996329_thumb.jpg

Thank Y'All for any opinions!!

Tony

I am a total newbie.

Nice to know i am seeing a hastalis,but what's the genus? :D

"Sharktooth Hill " gives me reason to believe it's an elasmobranch B)

Edited by doushantuo

I am a total newbie.

Nice to know i am seeing a hastalis,but what's the genus? :D

"Sharktooth Hill " gives me reason to believe it's an elasmobranch B)

The genius keeps changing but I think this is the current placement.

Cosmopolitodus (Isurus) hastalis (AGASSIZ, 1843) extinct White shark
You may like this site...
Tony

I take it selachian teeth are NOT normally laterally compressed?

BTW:Isolated teeth and taxonomy don't sit well together.

E.g. think sexual dimorphism,ontogenetic differences,intraspecific variation and teratologies

Thanks for thinking of showing a link.

Edited by doushantuo

I take it selachian teeth are NOT normally laterally compressed?

BTW:Isolated teeth and taxonomy don't sit well together.

E.g. think sexual dimorphism,ontogenetic differences,intraspecific variation and teratologies

Thanks for thinking of showing a link.

This is a C. Hastalis tooth that has the typical appearance from this species.

post-16416-0-55751500-1467004466_thumb.jpgpost-16416-0-35946700-1467004487_thumb.jpg

Do not understand this statement.

Other than upper/lower differences, as for as I am aware the only difference is an age thing. The teeth become more robust as the shark gets older.

Tony