New To This And Need Help:(

john77

• New Members

Hi everyone I am new to this and was wondering if someone could help me Identify whether this is a rock or a bone fossil. I have only been hunting for fossils since last summer, after my family and I took a short trip upstate. My kids and I had a lot of fun doing it. This spring I had a few shipments of fill dumped in my back yard to level it off and right away my kids started digging, that’s when my youngest found what I assume is a fossil or volcanic rock. It resembles the bones found in the hand or paw of an animal but I really don’t know. I think the shipment came from Pennsylvania or upstate NY. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks all.

John

post-1700-1243213325_thumb.jpg

post-1700-1243213360_thumb.jpg

post-1700-1243213394_thumb.jpg

post-1700-1243213407_thumb.jpg

post-1700-1243213433_thumb.jpg

post-1700-1243213447_thumb.jpg

post-1700-1243213459_thumb.jpg

john - welcome to the forum. there is a lot of good stuff here to read about that will help you.

unfortunately, i don't think your find is a fossil. almost anyone who searches much will find some very interesting rocks that get their hopes up. i've saved several of the ones that fooled me the worst. just keep studying up on the stuff and eventually you'll be able to spot bone fairly easily.

regards,

tracer

It's a fascinating piece; looks like a nodule of some sort, but not a fossil.

Your photos are really good! Most folks new to the Forum have "less-than-optimal" results the first few times they try to post a pic.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!