Can Anyone Id This?

missouriherpetology

• New Members

Hey, I'm new to collecting fossils and I found a few recently, the first seems to have multiple things in the rock kind of looking like some kind of animal, then I found what appears to be fossilized snake skin and the last one I don't know what it is, any help would be great! :

100_1671.jpg

100_1676.jpg

100_1673.jpg

100_1677.jpg

Skin:

100_1652.jpg

100_1653.jpg

100_1665.jpg

It looks like the first, second, third and seventh pictures are Cephalopods (relatives of the Squids). The fourth and fifth pics look like a coral or bryozoan. Can't tell what the third pic is.

Oh, and Welcome to the Forum!

-Dave

Geologists on the whole are inconsistent drivers. When a roadcut presents itself, they tend to lurch and weave. To them, the roadcut is a portal, a fragment of a regional story, a proscenium arch that leads their imaginations into the earth and through the surrounding terrain. - John McPhee

If I'm going to drive safely, I can't do geology. - John McPhee

Check out my Blog for more fossils I've found: http://viewsofthemahantango.blogspot.com/

The first few are cephalopods, imagine a straight shelled squid. Not sure about the others, but someone here should know, and I'm curious myself as to what they are. Here's a cephalopod I found from the Ordovician in Ontario

post-77-1243713302_thumb.jpg

There's no limit to what you can accomplish when you're supposed to be doing something else

That is some really old rock you're working with, much older than snakes. The sea floor you are walking on was full of strange life 400 or 500 million years ago! Ain't fossils cool? :)

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!