Stromatolites?

Ron E.

The Little Sugar Creek has a spot where these rocks are commonplace. I thought the first one was fossilized mud. Then, once I started learning more about fossils, I discovered stromatolites.

I believe that is what i have here.

The first one is a bit blurry, I had to shoot it through aquarium glass without flash to avoid washing it out. You see, these rocks look fantastic in a freshwater tank! I have a java fern rooted on the first one, I don't want to disturb it.

post-1880-1247927708_thumb.jpg

Here's a second one, in my angelfish breeder tank

post-1880-1247928102_thumb.jpg

And here's a third. I only have two tanks ;-)

post-1880-1247928141_thumb.jpg

What do ya'll think? Are these stromatolites? Thanks, Baldy

If i had to say, I would say the first might be, but I am not so sure of the latter two..

All the stromatalites i have seen have just been little mounds from the side, rather than the entire structure, so i could easily be wrong..

"To do is to be." -Socrates

"People are Stupid." -Wizard's First Rule

"Happiness is a warm Jeep." -Auspex

If i had to say, I would say the first might be, but I am not so sure of the latter two..

All the stromatalites i have seen have just been little mounds from the side, rather than the entire structure, so i could easily be wrong..

The thing is that these were all collected within 100' of each other. The rock structure really does look identical, that first one has been in the tank for a couple of years and has lots of algae growth on it.

Haha.. like I said, Ive only seen one view of one type of stromatalite, so I am not one to actually ID them....

but they are very nice...

"To do is to be." -Socrates

"People are Stupid." -Wizard's First Rule

"Happiness is a warm Jeep." -Auspex

Haha.. like I said, Ive only seen one view of one type of stromatalite, so I am not one to actually ID them....

No worries, mate :-)

But your comment did cause me to remember some more detail, and thanks.