Help Please.. Newbie Here In Pa

wyatte

Hello fossil forum - I am (gulp) a newbie hunter and fossil forum greenhorn and am in need of some help. ( Please no iniation rituals like a toilet swirlee)

I am lucky enough to live in PA (hershey area) and would love to go out with a friend of mine to st clair and deer lake.

I have spent (literally) hours and hours trying to figure out where to go for both places and just when I think that I finally find directions... there is an update and I am told that the site is closed or something has been built on it.

Is there anyone that can tell me where to go exactly with directions in St clair and deer lake to get some really good pieces? I am not looking to steal anybodies spot... I dont mind working hard to dig them out and, its a few hours drive - I would not be a regular there. I have always had a liking for fossils and now being a new home owner finally have the room to properly display them. (now I just need to find some to fill up all of the room lol)

I have read that in st clair you can get some larger pieces and believe I have the tools to do so (any hints, tips, advice any body can give for how and where to get larger pieces from would be great!!!)

I finding that it is very hard for people to tell you about sites - makes sense - but I am not looking to steal anyones site. I would really love to find some fish and or trilobites if anyone has sites or ideas for them.

I am working on a location now that might be productive and if I find out it is, Ill keep you posted (might take a while.. its a bit of a drive also)

Thanks everyone!!

Life is what you make of it - Now Dig!!!

Welcome to the forum from Austin, Tx. You'll find that there are lots of knowledgable people on the forum (but, unfortunately regarding locations in Penn., I'm not one :wacko: ).

Hi there :) Welcome from MD :)

Here is a list of some of the sites in PA

http://www.pennminerals.com/collecting.htm