Mamlambo's fossil hunts (now with video!)

mamlambo

Hi All

I've really been enjoying getting out and about here in New Zealand and hunting for fossils and taking some video footage at the same time. I'm still a beginner and find that by posting the videos I get some good info from the more experienced people across the world.

If anyone is interested, I have posted my latest video up here: 013 Beach hunt for Miocene fossils

I'm on instagram as well: @mamlambo_nz and would really like to follow any other TFF users, so please add me so I can follow you :)

48390825647_bdb21d7694_o (1).jpg

• I found this Informative 5

Nice video!

i often wondered what it would be like hunting there in the dark. Some times low tides are early in the morning or even middle if the night.

It would be quite a different experience.

The bone looks like cetacean bone which is common there. The last concretion in your video looks very promising :thumbsu:

Wow o wow, your videos are a trip through envy land.  Very cool finding all those Tumidos.  Seeing those hunting trips on video makes it real, like you are there with you.  New Zealand has been on my bucket list for a long time.  Sure envy being able to hunt for my favorite group of animals at a place so close.

• I found this Informative 1

I don't believe you didn't keep the exposed carapace. Many of the collectors here would have paid money for that specimen.

Mark.

Fossil hunting is easy -- they don't run away when you shoot at them!

On 03/08/2019 at 4:05 PM, RuMert said:

Crabs are impressive:thumbsu:. But a plesiosaur vert in Miocene formation?

Thanks :) The plesiosaurs are found in the same river, just many kms upriver and they sometimes do get washed down. I can always hope!

15 hours ago, crabfossilsteve said: