Please Authentify And Id This Trilobite

Santiago

Hi all,

I'm new to collecting fossils and dont have many, just a couple i got from Peru.

So, here's the deal. Im worried because i knew there are many fakes around, and i would like to know what you people think about this particular trilobite, and the sub-class among trilobites.

Pictures to come. It may take a while.. :)

post-2428-12573526793329_thumb.jpg

Edited by Santiago

Hi Santiago,

Welcome to the Forum.

I think you are in the posession of a trilobite named Metacryphaeus venustus, in addition to that I think it is more likely this fossil is from the locality "Sica Sica" in Bolivia, instead of from Peru. I do believe this specimen is authentic.

Not trilobites but my fossils display, with 2 ammonites and one petrified wood. Hope you like them.

If anybody can ID the ammonites, that would be great too! I have more pics of them if you need.

By the way, yes, i made the wood case especially for them. Just with a carpenter, some wood paint, and a glass on top, retractible. They are "resting" in pieces of moquette. :)

post-2428-12573545700718_thumb.jpg

Edited by Santiago

Woops, I am sorry.

Apparently Metacryphaeus venustus was renamed to Eldredgeia venustus in Wolfart (1968).. A bit confusing.

Hi!! Thanks for the welcome!!

Wow that is great, you made my day!

I was worried the members would think it has the "no-no" bubbles, but, taking a close look at the fossil with a loupe, they aren't bubbles, nothing like the fake tutorials i've seen online.

Well, regarding where they took it from..i was very certain its from Peru since the person who bought these for me met the actual "digger" and he was in Peru...

Oh yes!! that name you mentioned,...i just googled it and i found a lot of images of trilobites like mine! This is great! thanks!

PS: just read your new post, thanks for the correct name!! :)

Edited by Santiago

Yes, it is 100% real. Here is ok website.